A Coach & Some Balls

That title makes me laugh! Alas, it’s what this blog post is about so I’ll just go with it.

Yesterday I found myself a running a coach and I couldn’t be more thrilled. I had thought about tackling this HUGE goal of mine alone, but realized that seeking out someone who has experience in this area could really benefit my training. Honestly, having someone who can hold me accountable and motivate me, while mapping out what I need to do and when to do it, is exactly what I need to succeed. She is super cool and I just know that she is a wonderful match for me. Anyone looking for a running or triathlon coach, I suggest checking out Phaedra at www.pkperformancecoaching.com.

To start off, I will be running 3-4 times a week, with one day being a double run day. I start with a 5km run this Saturday. The goal is to get me up to 45-47km by week 23 so that I have enough time for a 3 week taper. I will also be incorporating strength training and yoga. So……here I go!

Now, let’s talk balls. For most, a natural progression when deciding on a new fitness routine or fitness goal is an evaluation of your current diet. I mean, why put in all that blood, sweat and tears for nothing? While I am a true advocate for a balanced diet (and yes, that includes treats), the fact of the matter is that you cannot fuel your body on garbage and expect peak or even moderately-high performance from it. The food you put in your mouth is the fuel it will use to get you through your workouts.

All that being said, I love chocolate but I wanted to find something is that is delicious, healthy and quick to snack on. I found the perfect recipe here. These treats keep in the fridge up to a week, or in the freezer up to a month. I personally like to keep in the freezer, as once they sit out for a few minutes they soften up and are delicious! They are packed with healthy ingredients and are grain-free, dairy-free and gluten-free. Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

