To Blog or Not to Blog

Yesterday as I will sitting down mapping out the next 26 weeks of my life in preparation for the 50km Ultra Marathon in the Haliburton Forest and Wildlife Reserve, I began thinking about whether I should blog my journey on a social platform, or journal it old-school way with a pen and paper. The more I thought about it, I realized how much I love reading about other people on their journey towards a big goal, namely in the fitness and health world.

There is something so inspirational about seeing a person transform right before your eyes. Now when I say “transform” I don’t mean in the literal sense of appearance necessarily, although that always astonishes me too.  I mean in their confidence, their ability, their strength (both mental and physical) and their determination to keep going.

We live in a world where our “yes” doesn’t always hold the value it should, where our commitment fizzles out quickly if the road gets tough or if we don’t see immediate results. This is why, in my opinion, training for a goal that is many months away (or saving for a trip 12 months down the road, etc.) is difficult for many as the pay-off is something that is not instant. I am certainly at fault for thinking and behaving like this in the past.

As I mentioned in my About Me page, I have big goals for 2017 and transforming myself mentally and physically is a top priority on that list. And what better way to truly challenge yourself than to commit to a 50km Ultra Marathon, where I am starting from ground zero, and share the trip and self exploration with friends and family?

 

Mud Hero 2014. Photo taken by my husband.
2 thoughts on “To Blog or Not to Blog

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

